Riding for a Reason

Changing the world, one mile at a time

Work Travel = Stationary Bike

So this week I’m traveling for work which definitely limits what I can do in regards to exercise and mainly cycling.  I’m less than two weeks away from the J-Hawk Latebird Triathlon in Whitewater and I really didn’t want to start tapering already.  I managed to get a solid 3 mile run in at lunch on Monday before we left, but I still wasn’t satisfied.  So I’m left with two options…  Option A) Calculate a random route in Laredo with lots of stop lights and run in the dark in 85 degree temps or B) Workout in the “workout room” at the hotel.  And I use that term loosely.

I decided on option B.  After trying to run on the treadmill that slowed down to a crawl when you get on it, I switched it up to the exercise bike.  It’s been a while since I’ve gotten on a stationary bike and away from the comfort of my steel/carbon chariot.  I had forgotten how uncomfortable and awkward those bikes can be.  Here’s your visual in the fancy “workout room”…

0916090649

So yeah, I struggled through 25 minutes on this beautiful piece of machinery missing the foot straps on the pedals and then decided to “pump some iron” for a few minutes.  Good times… I’m such a fitness guru…  I can’t wait to get home and get on my bike ASAP!

Ironman Wisconsin Update

Sunday a group of us went to support my friend Cam in the Ironman Wisconsin.  I had never spectated at an Ironman, but this definitely won’t be my last time!  We had a blast.  During a portion of the bike we had about 15 of us stationed underneath a bridge and Erika suggested that we start doing the wave as people rode by.  The enthusiasm built as we all proceeded to lose our voices given each rider a loud “WOOO” as we did the wave and they drove by.  We got some great reactions from a genuine “thank you” to people getting off their handlebars and doing the wave with us.  It was great!  We had air horns for every time we saw cam which never failed to get a smile.  I felt bad for the athletes later in the night as the marathon route became increasingly dark and lonely.  After 12 plus hours of exercizing I could not imagine the mental stress you would be going through at that point.  Cam ended up finishing in 16:20:00 about 40 minutes ahead of the cutoff.  From now on he will be known as IronCAM because he is, afterall, an Ironman.

For as mush pain and suffering we saw in the triathlon, there is a small spark that drives me as well as Steve and Jordan to compete sometime.  I have no plans right now, but if they do it, I’m going to have to do it with them. :)  Congrats to IronCAM though, enjoy it bud!

LIVESTRONG Update

Sorry for the lack of posts lately, just getting things organized for the 2010 committment.  If you have any good fundraising event ideas, e-mail me and let me know!

September 16, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

