Riding for a Reason

Changing the world, one mile at a time

Commute, Storms, and State Fair

Another week, another commute to work.  I was running a little late this week so instead of pushing it harder, I took a short cut and avoided the trails around Grant park.  Plus I’m dealing with a shin split from my old running shoes, so I figured this would be better than pulling something.  Since I stay on Lake Dr, I got to see the “crazy house” in Cudahy.  I’ll take a picture of it this week and post it.  Pretty interesting house.  There’s a ’57 Chevy that is cut in half and each half is buried in the ground.  On top of that, the yard is littered with all kind of statues and paraphenalia from fast food joints throughout the years.  A little hard to explain, but you’ll see when I post the picture. 

The way home was pretty uneventful with the exception of a a construction zone.  It broke down from 2 lanes each way down to one.  I had a few cars in front of me and one car behind me so I pushed harder to stay as close to the 25 mph speed limit as possible.  I stayed with traffic, so that was a small victory for me. :o)

Route

8-26-2009 8-58-45 PM

Elevation

Elevation 8-26-2009 9-17-27 PM

Wheeling for Healing

 I signed up for the 12th annual Wheeling for Healing fundraiser last week.  I figured it would be a good reason for a 32 mile ride.  Here’s the map.  Unfortnuately, when i woke up Saturday morning and got ready, it was still raining.  I checked out the weather and it the rain was going to pick up through the time that I would have been riding.  I opted to just chalk my entry fee as a donation to a good cause and went back to bad.  I’m glad I didn’t go.  It was raining cats and dogs on and off until about noon.  They ended up canceling the event for the first time in it’s 12 year history.  I just heard back from one of the organizers and it looks like there will not be a reschedule date.  I’ll look forward to riding next year August 14th, 2010. 

Wisconsin State Fair

Yesterday afternoon Katie and I decided to head to the fair for our annual “eat your way through the fair.”  Going to the fair means a short vacation from my training regimine, so I was looking forward to some of the delicasies that I can only get there.  Some things that I can now say I tried include a deep fried snickers bar and chocolate covered bacon.  Yeah… I know… The snickers bar was delicious, kind of like a snickers flavored funnel cake.  And I only had 2 bites, because I was well aware of the crap that I was putting into my body.  I think I cancelled out some of the bad nutrition by wearing my Door County Triathlon shirt.  :o)  The chocolate covered bacon was not so good.  It was like having a bite of chocolate followed by a bite of bacon.  Again, only had 1 bite there.  I’m thinking my next get rich quick scheme is going to be the invention of deep fried cinnamin rolls or Cinnabons.  If it sounds really unhealthy and borderline nasty, there’s no doubt in my mind people will line up at the fair and pay $4-$5 each for it.  We’ll table those thoughts until next year. ;o)

Wait... Deep fried Snickers bars are NOT a part of the triathlon training regimine?!?

Wait... Deep fried Snickers bars are NOT a part of the triathlon training regimine?!?

 Fortune Cookie Quote of the Month

“People may doubt what you say, but they will believe what you do.”

August 9, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

